WVU-WVGES geologist receives highest honor

Share this post
Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on Google+Share on LinkedInPrint this pageBuffer this page

October 22, 2008 by NRCCE News

Morgantown, W.Va. — Research geologist Douglas Patchen received the John T. Galey Memorial Award of the Eastern Section American Association of Petroleum Geologists, its highest honor, at the organization’s conference held last week in Pittsburgh. The award recognizes Patchen’s dedication to providing educational opportunities and increasing understanding of the Appalachian basin petroleum geology.

“Doug’s organized approach and keen intellect as well as his tireless service to the profession and the AAPG all contribute to this recognition,” said Katharine Lee Avary, Manager of the Oil & Gas Program and a Senior Geologist at the West Virginia Geological and Economic Survey, who cited him for the honor.

Patchen’s service dates back to the first Eastern Section meeting in 1972. Since then he has served on numerous technical committees for the national association in addition to organizing several of the Eastern Section conferences. Most recently, Patchen served as the general co-chair for the Eastern Section conference held last week in Pittsburgh that drew 1,300 attendees.

Patchen currently directs the Appalachian Oil and Natural Gas Research Consortium and the Appalachian Region of the Petroleum Technology Transfer Council, both programs of the National Research Center for Coal and Energy at West Virginia University.

Under Patchen’s leadership, the AONGRC produced The Atlas of Major Appalachian Gas Plays and the Geologic Play Book for Trenton-Black River Appalachian Basin Exploration among several other studies and the PTTC has sponsored more than 125 workshops in seven states throughout the Appalachian region.

Patchen is also Chief Geologist with the West Virginia Geological and Economic Survey. In April, Patchen will have been at the survey for 40 years. He has authored more than 50 journal articles and presented more than 40 research papers.

The John T. Galey Memorial Award was created to honor the AAPG Eastern Section founding father and first president by recognizing an individual who displays outstanding accomplishments and contributions to the petroleum profession and works directed toward the betterment of society. Honorees receive an ameDouglas Patchen with the Galey Awardthyst geode with engraved plaque and an engraved medal.