NBAC and WVU students team up to help Harrison rail trails

Share this post
Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on Google+Share on LinkedInPrint this pageBuffer this page

February 24, 2016 by Chris Marrs, WBOY – Channel 12 News

Anna Withrow has joined the Northern West Virginia Brownfields Assistance Center (NBAC) as its new brownfields redevelopment specialist.

Anna Withrow, NBAC redevelopment specialist

Clarksburg, W.Va. – The newly formed Harrison Rail Trails group is getting help from West Virginia University students.

Landscape architecture students teamed up with the Northern West Virginia Brownsfield Assistance Center this afternoon.

They are trying to figure out a way to connect the rail trails on the western edge of Clarksburg.

A recently removed railway bridge over Route 50 is causing connection problems.

“We will probably come up with a plan A and a plan B,” said Anna Withrow, NBAC redevelopment specialist. “Plan A being to reconstruct this bridge and it seems the issue is that we need to allow more clearance than the old bridge had or plan B that would be to go under the highway.”

View the full article at


CONTACT: Andrew Stacy; 304.293.6038

About Brownfields
Brownfields include all property, which is hindered from redevelopment, or reuse due to the presence or perceived presence of a hazardous substance, or contaminant.  The West Virginia Brownfields Assistance Centers were created in 2005 by the West Virginia Legislature to empower communities to plan and implement redevelopment projects.  

About the West Virginia Brownfields Assistance Centers
The Northern West Virginia Brownfields Assistance Center is a program of the West Virginia Water Research Institute housed at the National Research Center for Coal and Energy at West Virginia University and serves the northern 33 counties in West Virginia.  The West Virginia Brownfields Assistance Center at Marshall University, located in Huntington, West Virginia is housed within the Center for Environmental, Geotechnical, and Applied Sciences (CEGAS) and serves the southern 22 counties in West Virginia.